PDA

View Full Version : Norwegian research

June Pelo
23-03-04, 21:56
I have a request from an elderly man asking if I can find anything about his father who was born in Norway (Lillehammar?) in the 1800s. I have no experience with research in Norway but dear Alicia Marshall was able to find the following census record in Norway which may be Harold Wang's father. Could anyone advise how to go about finding anything more about Petter G. Vangen, b. 1883, indicated with a * (below)? Harold said his father was a shoemaker and that he came to the US about in the late 1800s.

Paul L. Vangen hf g Gaardbruger s 1826 Søndre Fron Krs
Beret O. Vangen hm g Gaardbrugerkone 1831 Ringebu
Gunda P. Vangen d ug Husgjerningen 1877 Søndre Fron Krs
Petter G. Vangen fl ug Skomagerdreng 1883 Søndre Fron Krs *
Bergitte Tomasdatter fl ug Barn 1889 N Fron
Gunda Tomasdatter fl ug Barn 1891 N Fron
Thea Tomasdatter fl ug Barn 1896 Søndre Fron Krs
Census year: 1900
Municipality: Trondheim
Municipality number: 1601
Street: Udsigten 1
Number of persons in this domicile: 5.

Alicia found a Peder Andreas Wang, b. 18 Mar 1884 in Stavanger who sailed in 1904 from Southampton but the birth date is not the same as Petter G. Vangen.

June

Hasse
23-03-04, 22:51
June,

I posted the question to one of the main lists in Norway.

The question and possible replies can be seen online at this address (http://digitalarkivet.uib.no/cgi-win/WebDebatt.exe?slag=listinnlegg&debatt=brukar&temanr=20773&sok=&startnr=&antall=&spraak=)

granskare
24-03-04, 04:53
I have seen people from Norway on membership lists so if I knew the town in USA to which they immigrated, I could check and see if there is anything of value. At least one could verify something found elsewhere.

Chuck

June Pelo
24-03-04, 23:12
Chuck,

Peter G. Wang was born 23 Sep 1883 in Norway according to SSDI, d. May 1962, Rhinelander, WI. He emigrated ca 1904-5 and lived in Oneida in 1910, in Three Lakes, and in Rhinelander in the 1920s-30s.