PDA

View Full Version : Lutfisk

June Pelo
17-07-04, 20:21
I know it's early to be thinking about lutfisk, but I have a request from someone asking how to prepare the fish from scratch - what kind of wood to use, and all the steps involved. He doesn't want to buy it frozen from the market. When I was young my father always bought the dried fish from the fish market, but I have no knowledge how the fish was cured. If anyone has suggestions, please let me know.

Thanks,

June

Karen Norwillo
17-07-04, 20:41
Hi June, This is what my Finnish Cookbook says:

Soak a large codfish in water for 1 week, changing the water every day.Then for 3 to 5 days(or until the fish is shiny) soak in a strong solution of raw soda and ashes mixed with water. It doesn't say what kind of ashes. Then soak the fish again in fresh water 7 more days, changing the water daily. In all, it takes about 3 weeks to prepare the raw fish.
Sounds like an awful lot of work to me. This is from a cookbook written by Beatrice A. Ojakangas

June Pelo
17-07-04, 21:00
Thanks, Karen. Yes, it sounds like a lot of work but I guess some people like to do things the hard way :p I'll pass the recipe on.

June

June Pelo
18-07-04, 19:15
I sent the recipe on to my friend and now he wants to know what raw soda is? It's not a term we use in the U.S. And also what ratio of soda to water is used to soak the fish? If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.

Thanks,

June

Merja
19-07-04, 13:08
This is the recipe from my cookbook ( Keittotaito ( Skill of Cooking), 32nd ed, 1st ed 1932 )

You will need:
cod
birch ash
Ca-hydroxide
water

Club and skin the fish. Use a large wooden bucket and put the fish in, skinside up. Pour in cold water until the fish is covered. Leave for a week but change water every day.