PDA

View Full Version : HELP PLEASE Stopsén, Stopson, Gikiere, Jokinen???

jstopson
23-10-04, 05:26
Please forgive me, I am very new to all of this but really need some help. I have been trying to find and research my history in Finland. It appears once they came to the US, the name changed. It was Stopsen, and now I find other records that are Stopson and now Gikiere has come up along with Jokinen.... I am very confused about this "name war" that I have read so much about. The last information that was shared with me was this...

First names Arvid
Age or age group 35
Port of departure Hanko
Place of destination New York
State of destination NY
Country of destination USA
Price of ticket FIM 263
Ship from Finland Titania
Date of departure from Finland 07.01.1914
Ship from England Cedric
Date of departure from England 15.01.1914
Ocean Line White Star Line
Port of departure in England Liverpool
List and page 98/28
Remarks Vaasa!

I think he must have been a Swedish speaking Finn. But that isn't for sure by any means.... I am not even really sure what to do with this information. I aslo think that once he arrived in US, he and his brothers split and the "Stopsen" side doesn't know about us, the Stopson's. I know he was married twice (first wife died shorty after arriving here of illness) and he had children by both.
If anyone can give me some hints I would be very greatful. I have found my Grandfather and he still speaks Finnish and living here in the US. It is his father that was married twice that splits things up. I am a 32 year old single mother of 2 and really want to help my father and grandfather answer some long ago questions. Hopefully i will start to uncover many soon.

If you have any suggestions, please feel free to email me at jstopson%40cableone.net

Any suggestions would be great!!

kpaavola
23-10-04, 17:54
Hi Joy,