PDA

View Full Version : Annette Johnston from Lansing, Michigan

AnnetteJohnston
03-02-05, 14:49
Hi there everyone! I found this forum on ancestry.com. I am trying to trace back my great-grandfather Axel Erlands (Axel Erickson after he came to the U.S. in 1893). I am also hoping to find living relatives in Finland! My great-grandfather was originally from Kristinestad. I very much plan on visiting Finland in a couple of years. I want to do the research on the family first and maybe I can meet family when I go.

Karen Douglas
03-02-05, 23:00
Hi Annette,

Welcome aboard - from another Lansing resident!

I'm sure you will enjoy this site, as everyone is so friendly, and so willing to help. Where did your great grandfather settle when he came to the U.S. in 1893?

Karen Douglas

AnnetteJohnston
03-02-05, 23:36
That is very cool that you are also from Lansing! I almost wonder if I've seen you before since I work in retail (at Rite Aid Pharmacy). At any rate, my great-grandfather lived in Spokane, Washington for a few years. He was a miner and spent his summers mining in Idaho. My Grandma used to tell me lots of stories about Spokane and Idaho mining with his dad. Eventually my great-grandmother inherited the family farm and they moved to Bancroft, MI. He died there and is buried at Hillcrest Cemetery in Owosso.

Jim Bailey
03-02-05, 23:56
Hej, Annette ----

From another Michigander, Welcome to the list. It's a GREAT bunch of people. I joined in early 2003 and have been delighted ever since with all the help.

As for me, I was born and bred mostly in Ann Arbor, but spent my childhood in Escanaba. Mom's mother's family came from Kållby village in Pedersöre parish, near Jakobstad in northern Finland, to Metropolitan, Michigan, in 1892, and then on to Ashland, WI. (Dad was Irish and German from Bay City, MI.)