PDA

View Full Version : Hoglander / Smeds

harrysme
10-03-05, 14:10
Hello

My name is Harry Smeds. I am living in Espoo, at the capital district of Finland. I have been studying my roots for about twenty years. I found newly the Talko-project and left my database there. My native language is Finnish and the texts and parish names are in Finnish (Korppoo, Nauvo, Koivulahti, Mustasaari, Solva).

My father Wilhelm Höglander was born at Korpo, in the southwestern archipelago of Finland. A part of his ancestors came from Nagu and Kökar, in the province of Åland. I have done some studies in Ostrobothnia (Kvevlax, Korsholm, Solf) too looking for the ancestors of my half-brothers. The roots of my mother are in Karelia, in parishes now belonging to Russia.

I am especially interested about members of Höglander (Hoglander) family immigrated to USA. Karl H (1930-1990) and Rudolf H (1905-1989) are my half-brother and uncle. About their families I know what I need to know. Karl Konstantin H (1878-1964) had five children in Freeport Nassau, NY USA: Niles b 1910, Walter b 1913, Dorothy b 1918, Wilbur b 1922, and Elonor b 1928, but about their families I know nothing. About Oskar William H (1877-1946) I do not know if he had any family. From Sweden came people with the family name Höglander too, but I think that they are not our relatives.

Harry

Karen Norwillo
10-03-05, 21:37