PDA

View Full Version : Lena Salonen in Maine

Kaj Granlund
04-04-05, 20:00
Any information about the family of Lena Salonen born 18 Nov 1905 in Lappfjärd Finland. Died Oct 1979. Have the places Sumner Oxford/West paris/ Woodstock, Maine.

granskare
04-04-05, 20:11
"...West Paris - Congregational
There still exists a "Suomalainen Lähetyskirkko" ( Finnish Mission Church ) organization, which started many Finnish Congregational Churches in numerous states in America. ..."

This quote is from the finngen site so this is likely where they might have gone to church.

Swenson's closest Swedish church is in Portland ME so not likely a candidate.

Chuck

Kaj Granlund
06-04-05, 21:23
Thanks. Obvioulsy correct. Her husband is supposed to have been finnishspeaking.

granskare
06-04-05, 22:23
I remember visiting the Finnish gen place once or twice and I think I looked for somebody on their computer but I wasn't doing gen stuff then.
I don't really know how they operate. I am a graduate of Augustana College where Swenson is located so I have free access - not free fotocopies though:(

Chuck:D

jeanette
06-04-05, 23:27
Hej Kaj,
In the 1910 census there are 6 Salonen Heads of Household in MA. Four are listed in Fitchburg, one in Worcester and one in Boston. Altogether probably 50 listings for Salonen in USA.

I'm guessing Salonen is Lenas birth name? You mentioned she had a Finnish speaking husband do you know his name? Also do you know when she emigrated? As a child with her parents?
Before or after she was married?

Jeanette

ps Hope Spring in Paris was magical.

kpaavola
07-04-05, 04:30
Hi Kaj,
Like Jeanette mentioned, if you could provide some additional details, we might be able to find her.

I did a general search on Lena born 1905 +/- 1 yr in Finland and 2 showed up in New York state. Then I did the same but for Salonen and 2 showed up there as well but neither of these were Lena.

Standing by to help with some additional details...;)

Kaj Granlund
10-04-05, 10:33