PDA

View Full Version : Hilma, Jaakko and Juho Tukala, Vihanti to Palmer, Mich.?

Paivi T
25-04-05, 19:13
Tukala from Vihanti (province of Oulu) is my maternal grandfather's mother's family. I recently started studying this family, and found out, to my great surprise, that three out of ten siblings emigrated to the USA in the late 19th and early 20th century.

Here's what I have and who I'm looking for:

* Hilma Heikint. Tukala, born 12 Dec 1865 in Vihanti, province of Oulu, emigrated in 1890
* Jaakko Heikinp. Tukala, born 17 Jan 1777 in Vihanti, province of Oulu, emigrated in 1900
* Juho Heikinp. Tukala, born 26 Jan 1785 in Vihanti, province of Oulu

The emigration years of Hilma and Jaakko come from the Vihanti parish communion book for the period of 1891-1900. I found no details on either on the web. Jaakko can be placed in Palmer, Mich., with the help of little brother Juho's emigration records, but Hilma's life is a complete mystery.

Juho's records are online, at the Institute of Migration and at Ellis Island. He arrives onboard the S.S.Adriatic from Liverpool on 18 April, 1913. He's single, 28 years old, joiner; travelling to his "Brother Jaakko Tukala, Box 104, Palmer, Mich."

I'd like to know how to go about tracing the three siblings and their possible families and descendants in the USA.
I'd appreciate all info and tips in the search for possible distant relatives...

Päivi T

Paivi T
25-04-05, 19:17
Of course I mistyped the years of birth of Jaakko and Juho *blush*

NOT 1777 but 1877 for Jaakko, and similarly, NOT 1785 but 1885 for Juho...

Päivi T

Karen Norwillo
25-04-05, 23:23
Päivi,
I found Hilma Tukala, born abt 1866, age 25, arriving NY 17 Jan 1891, listed as Russia, Finland, sailed from Bremen, Germany. Destination, USA. This is from the NY Passenger Lists 1851-1891.