PDA

View Full Version : Learning about the Bastman and Koskela Families

perl47
11-06-05, 03:12
My name is Jo Phillips and I live in the U.S., in the state of Ohio. My great-grandparents were Wilhelmina (Koskela) and John Backman, who lived in Wakefield (Gogebic County in the Upper Peninsula), Michigan.

Wilhelmina came to the U.S. in 1901. She was born 10 September 1878, in Lappajarvi, Waasa, Finland. Her parents were Heikki Koskela and Liisa Luoma Aho. Wilhelmina had a sister named Hannah and a brother named Andrew who also came to the U.S.

My great-grandfather was Frans Gustaf Hjalmar Bastman, born 22 Nov 1875 in Kotka or Weberg, Finland. He came to the U.S. in 1902 and the spelling of his name was changed to Backman. I believe he had a sister named Ingrid who also came to the U.S. The Bastmans were Swede-Finns. In a family photo album, there are pictures of an Elin Bastman as well as some Blombergs but I don't know what the relationship is.

I'm very new at this research and have a lot to learn yet. I've been enjoying the many articles that are so helpful and I've enjoyed reading so many of the posts in this forum. Thank you for allowing me to join and I hope to be a contributing member once I've learned more.

granskare
11-06-05, 04:37
found at: Swenson S 27-3 = Iron Co, Crystal Falls, Finnish Lutheran (merged with Swedish to form United Lutheran)

Pos Given Names Surname Other names Born Parish Emi. Church

b78mh Johan Koski age 23 when md, Apr 15 1904 Finland unk S 27-3
b78mw Johanna Koskela age 22, ditto Finland unk S 27-3

Edit: ah the code. Left column "b" refers to the second book on the film, page 78, m=marriage, w=wife, h=husband. They married Apr 15 1904.
No idea when they emigrated.

Not many Koskela people around and this girl matches up with a Hanna so maybe she is yours.