PDA

View Full Version : Terveisiä from Canada

pirjo
02-08-05, 05:59
Greetings to all from Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada.
I have been researching my own and my husband’s Finnish roots for several years. This is my first posting, although, I’ve followed this site with interest and am hoping someone out there is researching, or may have knowledge, of the same family trees or some of its branches and long roots. It’s always a thrill to read of someone discovering long lost branches of their family or resolving family mysteries of long lost relatives. I’m happy to say that I have been able to learn about ancestors in both my own and my husband’s families and have even made contact with relatives we never knew existed. While hoping I find some help out there to fill in some of the blanks, I will be happy to share information I have gathered on our Finnish roots.
I still have many puzzles to solve but the one that has been niggling our family for many years is the lack of knowledge of when my g-grandfather died and where he is buried. Isak Wiita, b. 1856 in Parkano. According to immigration records he immigrated to Michigan in 1899. Finnish records show he was declared dead January 1, 1945. However, according to relatives, word was received in the late 20s or perhaps early 30s that he had died.
Michigan 1920 census records indicate that he was living in Drummond, Chippewa, Michigan with his son Joseph living close by. Joseph and his family appear in the 1930 census living in Chassell, Michigan but there is no record of Isak. I should note that in a previous search couple of years ago on another forum I did get much appreciated help from Alicia, Leena and Roger about Joseph’s family but I still haven’t been able to answer the above questions about Isak’s demise, most likely on Drummond Island.
If anyone can help with this information I would be most grateful.

Pirjo

granskare
02-08-05, 07:36
Hi Pirjo and welcome to sfhs!