PDA

View Full Version : Glad to be here. Hei from Maryland.

KUunila
14-01-06, 03:24
I look forward to sharing with and learning from anyone who may have roots in common in the families of Uunila, Kainuu (Kaino), Kankkonen, Haggren, Riippa, Viitavesi, Friis.

I was born in Astoria, Oregon to Uuno and Brigitta Uunila, who had left Himanka (Uuno for the second time) at the close of the Winter War. After their passing, I moved among a number of Finnish-American communities in California, Washington, DC and Michigan.

Now I work as a historical archaeologist in southern Maryland. I find it interesting and ironic that I know more details about hard-to-research families of African descent in the Chesapeake region and their 18th and 19th-century slavemasters than I know about the lives of my own ancestors. I love my work, but I wish to reap some of the fruits of my passion for research from my own family tree.

I invite you to talk to me and look forward to hearing from you.

Kirsti Uunila

Hasse
14-01-06, 16:54
Originally posted by KUunila
...I invite you to talk to me and look forward to hearing from you.

You shouldn't have problems finding relatives on this forum if you have Kaino/Caino and Kankkonen in your pedigree...

Welcome!

Hasse

June Pelo
14-01-06, 18:34
Hasse is right - many of us have links to these families. If you post some names and dates, we can check our databases for them. And if/when you have access to Talko, you'll find many of these families there. I have many Riippa, Viitavesi, Kankkonen, Caino names in my ancestry. And recently I have been helping someone in Finland who is looking for data on her Friis relatives in the US.

You'll enjoy working with this group of Finlanders!

June

KUunila
14-01-06, 18:43
Thank you both, June and Hasse for your warm welcomes.