PDA

View Full Version : I need advice

Alice Finnerty
31-08-06, 03:29
I work part time as a deputy clerk for a township in my county. To make a long story short - In very old boxes dating back to the early 1900 - we came across old death certificates that were not turned over to the county when township no longer kept those kinds of records. These records I found have some specifics but some are vague facts. We will have to turn them in soon to the county but will make copies of these certificates before this is done. I found many Finns and Swedes in these books.
I would like to know if there is some organization within the Finlander Forum that would like copies of these for their records? I would be glad to send the copys to any organization that would use them to help find ancestors.
Thanks for any advice you can offer.
Alice

June Pelo
31-08-06, 22:43
Alice,

I think the Swedish Finn Historical Society would be the logical place for this data. Usually Syrene is online, and I don't know if anyone else there checks out the mail. Hasse, do you know?

June

Hasse
01-09-06, 06:44
Hi Alice & June

Would guess that SFHS would be interested.

I know that at least Syrene checks Finlander. I'll drop her a line - maybe she has settled after their trip to Finland by now?

Are the records as paper records or are they scanned?

Hasse

Alice Finnerty
07-09-06, 04:02
These records are the orginial records in a bound book. There was a county hospital aka county TB sanitorum aka poor house in this township and most of the records refelect the place of death as this facility.
I took the time to read these like a book - very interesting and many are Swedes and Finns. Even tho there is a name of the deceased - there is no name for the parents but will have the country of orgin.