PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Cloquet, MN

Mary Lukkarila
29-04-07, 04:45
June Pelo has been talking about this forum for a long time. Now I have found time to join. Three of my grandparents were born in Finland, one in Kuortane (Leppiaho), one in Kuusamo (Tuovila), and the other in Pudasjärvi(Lantto). My fourth grandparent was born in New York Mills, MN. His father was born in Siikajoki (Lukkarila) and his mother in Rantsila (Äijälä). At one time I said I was 100% Finn but have since learned of Swedish connections with the Sursill family and Sami heritage. After my second visit to Finland, I realized that I wasn't Finnish at all, but by now, 3rd generation American. Now I say I am Finnish American as a compromise. I have been researching my family since 1978. Things moved very slowly until the arrival of the Internet and wonderful sites that allow people to communicate with each other and find connections. Currently, in my spare time, I am working on the Finnfest 2008 committee. It will be in Duluth, MN. at the end of July 2008. You are all invited to attend. We plan to have a wonderful genealogy room that will look out toward Lake Superior.

Best regards,
Mary

cdahlin
29-04-07, 18:17
Hello Mary!

I have heard of the Finnfest 2008 in Duluth and I hope that I can come over then. I have a lot of "new" cousins in this area so it would be great to come and visit them.

Christian Dahlin, Pedersöre, Finland

June Pelo
29-04-07, 21:12
Hello Mary,

I remember when we were in MN about 10 years ago? and met you and Leif Mether, among others, there at Esko. Wish we didn't live so far away or we'd be there in Duluth next year.