PDA

View Full Version : Hi! New Member from Vermont

Ruusu
02-05-07, 16:50
Hi! I am researching the ancestors of my Grandparents from Finland.
I've been working on it, on and off for many years and have not been able to get very far.

My Grandparents were:

Jaako Vihtori Ojanpera(?)/Niemi
(Changed name in the USA to "Victor Jacob Olson"
b. 1886 Jurva,Vaasa,Finland.
d. 1950 In Quincy,Massachusettts,USA

son of:

Jaako Matinpoika Ojanpera (?)/Niemi
b 4 Aug 1854
Jurva Vaasa, Finland
d. 14 Nov 1931
Jurva,Vaasa,Finland

and

Anna Lisa Pera Eliaksentyar
b. 10 Nov 1855
Jurva, Vaasa,Finland

M. abt 1916
(prob Quincy,Massachusetts,USA) to

Marie Matilda Haapakoski
b. 10 Mar 1888
Jurva,Vaasa,Finland
d.12 Aug 1956
Quincy,Massachusetts, USA

daughter of:

Juha Vilhelm Haapakoski
b. 3 Dec 1854
Jurva,Vaasa,Finland

Sanna (Susanna) Tuomaantytar
b 3 Oct 1857
Jurva,Vaasa,Finland
d. 18 Jun 1911
Jurva,Vaasa,Finland

For many years we did not even know that "Olson" was not the real family name. Just before one of my Father's cousins passed away, she sent me a letter giving me the real information.
But - I am confused as to the real last name of "Victor Olson".
My Father's cousin had written that it was "Ojanpera", yet My research has shown that Victor's siblings used the last name of "Niemi".

My Grandparents lived for many years in the Quincy, Massachsetts area, but in the 1920's moved to the Barre, Vermont area.
Victor spent most of his time doing either carpentry or traveling throughout Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont working in the Logging Camps.
They returned to the Quincy,Massachusetts area in their later years.

My Father remained in Vermont and worked at the Granite Quarries as a Riggger.

There are a few cousins of Victor and Matilda still in Massachusetts, but it appears that they know even less then I do.

I have checked Church records from their time in Quincy - but all the pertinent records were lost in a fire in the 1970's.