PDA

View Full Version : Transition from patronymics to surnames

diogenes99
27-10-03, 10:52
Many generations of my Finnish ancesters used patronymics without a surname until the 1800s, when they supplemented their names with a surname taken froim their communal farm. What event or reason was there for this change in practice. Was it implemented during Russian or Swedish rule? Would it be similar to the European practice of appending a name with the city of birth, e.g. Loenardo De Vinci (of Vinci)?

enges
27-10-03, 12:09
There is a rather good tutorial on finnish surnames at

http://members.aol.com/DSSaari/saarinam.htm

/anders

diogenes99
27-10-03, 12:48
Thank you for the article URL. I am still not sure what event started the use of farm names. Also, did they use these farm names to refer to themselves, or is it a convention we have adopted as genealogists?

enges
27-10-03, 13:27
I'm not an expert on this subject, but i don't think that they used surnames at all before mid 1800. Usually they used their patronymics names, or a more or less polite nickname. In the church records in Vörå they started to use surnames (farmnames) 1839. The reason for this was (probably) that the population grew rapidly and became more moveable, so they had to keep better records than before. My grandfather (born 1899) was called Johan Erik Eriksson all the time. The only times he used his surname was on more "official" occations. There was a name reform early 1900 (can't remember when - but it was during the russian time), that forced all to have a "real" surname - a name that was inherited by thier children wherever they moved.

Maybe some meber has researched this better than me?

/anders

Hasse
27-10-03, 13:31