PDA

View Full Version : Umlauts

June Pelo
11-12-07, 00:44
I have a strange situation that just happened when I try to type umlauts in mail on the Forum. I never had the problem before, and it only happens when typing the Scandinavian characters (I can't even demonstrate them here because I get kicked off the page when I try). I can type e-mail OK - the problem arises when I access Finlander and try to type queries or answer queries. Does anyone have any ideas what has happened? I've been answering Finlander mail for many years and never had this problem. I'm still using the same computer and the same software. No one has any idea what is wrong, nor how to fix it. I thought that if I changed the combination of numbers used for the umlauts, the problem would be solved. But, even using a different combination of numbers doesn't make any difference. As soon as I hit the numbers, the page disappears and I'm put back to the Finlander home page. :(

June

Ayla
11-12-07, 10:39
I wish I could help June but when things start getting technical it goes waaaaaaaaay over my head. If I can get hold of my brother today I will ask him for some ideas, he knows a bit about these things I think :D

Good luck, hopefully someone will come along and help soon.

Ayla
xxx

Jaska Sarell
11-12-07, 10:45
Hi June,

I assume that you use Alt key combinations to produce Scandinavian characters.
Testing with Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.11 and Win2000.

Windows set
Alt-134 () --- goes back one page after 1 3 4
Alt-143 () --- goes back one page after 1 4
Alt-132 () --- prints
Alt-142 () --- goes back one page after 1 4
Alt-148 () --- goes back one page after 1 4
Alt-153 () --- prints
Unicode set
Alt-0229 () --- prints
Alt-0197 () --- goes to browser home page after 0 1 9 7
Alt-0228 () --- prints
Alt-0196 () --- goes to browser home page after 0 1 9 6
Alt-0246 () --- goes back one page after 0 2 4
Alt-0214 () --- goes back one page after 0 2 1 4

It seems that whatever you've pressed before,