PDA

View Full Version : What does "upl." / "uppl." stand for?

seele01
19-01-09, 21:34
I have a quick death record abbreviation question...

http://hiski.genealogia.fi/hiski?en+t6242045

What does "upl." stand for? HisKi says "upl.", and my scan of the actual record from the LDS microfilm says his occupation is - "bonde, uppl." My two candidates are "upplyst", meaning enlightened I think, and "upplöst", meaning dissolved I think...but I am no expert, and it could be something else.

If it means enlightened, I am assuming it means he was a fully knowledgeable member of the church? And if it means disolved...what does that mean?

Anyways, thanks for the help!

granskare
06-02-09, 21:21
does the hiski link you show refer to your relative?

http://www.familysearch.org/Eng/Search/rg/frameset_rg.asp?Dest=G1&Aid=&Gid=&Lid=&Sid=&Did=&Juris1=&Event=&Year=&Gloss=&Sub=&Tab=&Entry=&Guide=WLSweden.ASP

edit: url above; this is a nice place for Swedish terms

seele01
06-02-09, 23:30
Hey thanks for the reply!

Yeah, the person on HisKi that I linked to is my great great grandfather, Isak Andersson.

And I appreciate the link, but I couldnt find a word in the "U" section that would fit "upl." or "uppl.". Thanks, though!

granskare
06-02-09, 23:44
then I would believe the term, upl. is a Finnish language abbreviation and not Swedish. Other than the actual text entries, everything is likely to be in modern day Finnish. Then term, HisKi = historiakirjat so try to translation help with Finnish.

somehow my edit didn't take: because you saw it in the original scan, it's got to be swedish so maybe you can scan that portion for ppl here?

an even better place for abbreviations is genline out of Sweden: http://www.genline.com/resources/dictionary_abbreviations.php?page=a

getting a scan of the original is important because you may have misinterpreted the old letter styles of some of these vicars or clerks...I've seen a lot of strange stuff so maybe?

June Pelo
07-02-09, 02:04