PDA

View Full Version : Murder?

Denise
27-07-09, 15:05
I have been trying Google Translation to read this about an ancestor, without much luck. :o Can someone just give me an idea of what is written? I don't need the whole page translated.
http://www.orajarvi.net/kaikenlaista/marian_tarina.htm
Thank-you,
Denise

kivinen1
27-07-09, 22:34
Seems as though some of my Granat family is involved here as well.

Did you "try" the full page type of translation? Of course it is not great, but a little better than by each paragraph. http://translate.google.com/translate?js=y&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.orajarvi.net%2Fkaikenlaista%2Fm arian_tarina.htm&sl=fi&tl=en&history_state0=&swap=1

Denise
27-07-09, 23:07
Hi Ilmari,
Yes, I copied the whole story to google translate, and everytime I read it I'm more confused. :confused: :D :o :( :mad: I guess I am not good at reading jibberish!

Denise

Denise
27-07-09, 23:25
I guess I'm trying to figure out what role Aaron Niilonpoikä Orajärvi played in this story and who was to blame for Maria's death. Was it Aaron's unborn child she was carrying when she was stabbed? put in a boat and she disappeared? rocks thrown at her? I have no clue. Or was a rock named for her after her death? And what did a child have to do with her death?

Denise :D

kivinen1
28-07-09, 08:27
Seems something like "on acquittal, Aaron only had to pay a fine of 60 silver "dollars" or an imprisonment of 16 days.

It seems that the appeals court found insufficient evidence of his roll in the murder, but still made the above "fine".

OK, Finnish people, please tell us the whole story now, and tell us how wrong we are!

Ritva Winter
28-07-09, 12:39
On the night between Aug 26th and 27th, the servant Maria Heikintytär disappeared from the Jussi-farm in Väylänmukka (where she was employed),