PDA

View Full Version : Lost Flodman ancestors

dandelion0202
31-10-09, 08:45
I have been researching my family tree for two years now and there is one person who eludes me completely. Can anybody help?

My Great Great Grandfather, Karl Johan Flodman. All I know about him, is that he was from Finland, was born somewhere near the Finnish/Russian border, in around 1880. (possibly Varsi?) We believe his father was also called Karl Johan Flodman - I have an old photograph somewhere, and his mother was Swedish?

In either 1901 or 1910, he came to England with some friends to avoid doing military service. In 1912, he married a Danish lady by the name of Johanne Rasmussen, in Grimsby, England. They had 4 children (one called Karl Johan Flodman of course) and Karl worked as a 2nd Engineer on trawlers.

Karl's youngest daughter still lives and although she knew a lot about her Danish family, she knows nothing about Karl's origins. I can't find him on any UK census, (we can only see up to 1911 and neither he nor his wife are on there!) I have also looked in immigration records and trawler records, but I have had no luck!

Karl died in 1959 in Grimsby, England. He is buried in Cleethorpes, with no headstone.

Are there any records in Finland that might help me? Emigration records, birth records... I don't know. I'm completely stuck and desperately want to know more about this intriguing man.

Can anyone help?
Thanks,
Danielle

Denise
31-10-09, 13:14
Hi Danielle,
From the Institute of Migration I found only 2 passport records for the name Flodman from Vaasa and no passenger records at all.

Detailed passport information
Last name Flodman
First names Georg Edvard
Other names *
Date of birth . .1891
Marital status 1
Religion Lut.
Occupation Nuorukainen
Home parish Vaasa
Province VAA
Passport date 29.09.1911
Passport number 3085
Passport valid (year:month) 5:0
Destination Amerikka
Passport issued by VAA
Remarks *

Detailed passport information
Last name Flodman