PDA

View Full Version : Norwegian Finn

Margaret B
02-11-10, 12:24
Hi there!

I am researching my husband's family, which emigrated to northern Norway from Ii in 1878. I have built up quite a good overview of the Paso family from Ii/Kiiminki/Haukipudas going back to 1680. Other branches of the family I have not had much success with include the Paaso family of Tyrnävä and the Alatalo family of Ii (starting with Caisa Maria Alatalo, b. 1863 or thereabouts, father's name given as Petter/Pehr).

If there is anyone out there researching the same families, I would be glad to share what I know.

Best regards,

Margaret B

June Pelo
02-11-10, 17:34
HisKi has a number of these names but data doesn't extend beyond ca 1850. I also saw some of the names in the Talko database, but didn't see the names you are looking for.

Margaret B
02-11-10, 17:56
Thanks for replying to my post. As a complete novice on this site I am unfamiliar with the Talko database. What is it and how can I access it.

Regards,

Margaret B

June Pelo
02-11-10, 21:39
It's a database composed of data from GedComs submitted by Finlander members who receive a password before they can search the database. You can read about Talko here:
http://finlander.genealogia.fi/sfhswiki/index.php/The_Talko_Project

Snoberg
03-04-11, 05:28
Hi Margaret B,

I am new to the forum, and still trying to find my way around this new-fangled format. As a Norsk-Finn, or Kvaen, you might have better luck searching in Norwegian records using a patronymic. Different countries adopted chosen surnames, at different times. I think Finns were 'ahead of the curve' when it came to choosing a consistent surname, which was more like an address of the farm on which they were living. If they moved, their name changed.
My family emigrated from Tornio to Troms, Norway at a time when the Norwegian government was still focused on using patronymics.