PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

Nyberg Ernst
07-01-04, 19:31
After several reminders, I heremit introduce myself. My name is Ernst Nyberg, married, three children, three grandchildren, age 67 years and two days (thanks for congratulations on my birthday!). I am a retired engineer and spend my time on family research, history, grandchildren and choir-singing. The name of the choir is "Shanty Singers" and we sing shipboard songs from the great days of sail.
I live in Finland in the city of Åbo (Turku in Finnish), and belong to the 6% minority with Swedish as native language. Two of my children live in Åbo, one in Reykjavik (Iceland).
I have, with several breaks, been researching for family for many years, but only in domestic societies. When I found that my grandmothers brother Gustaf Emil Mallén (Malén; Malen, Malan) had emigrated to America in 1906, I sent a private request for help to find him, to June Pelo. At that stage I did not know anything about SFHS and the Finlander Forum. I did not know June Pelo either, but I had heard about her and her capacity. She has do helped me a lot and, because I was not then a member, she put out my matter as a new thread. Alice Marshall, "granskare", Janet, Kevin Paavola and perhaps also other have contributed. Thanks to all!
The result was, that Gustaf Emil and his family was found! I got a list of 10 names and addresses on individuals who may be relatives to him! I wrote a letter to each of them and now I am waiting for the outcome.
I am a quite reticent (tystlåten) man. I talk only when I have something to say and not only for filling the silence with my voice. I also write only when I have something to write about, but not inly to fill empty space. I am therefore a bit embarrassed for the efforts to force the contributors to produce more threads and opinions. I think that in such a forum the activity must be allowed to proceed on its own - according to the natural need. The quality is more important than the quantity!