PDA

View Full Version : HisKi -- What about later dates

Robert Jokela
14-01-11, 21:20
I am very new to genealogy and this forum. I have a simple question. How do I find records at parishes in time periods not covered by HisKi? My grandparents were born, married and left Finland between 1875 and 1907. (I've submitted my GEDCOM and am patiently awaiting instructions.) Thank you very much for any help you can provide.

Robert Jokela
Duluth, MN, USA

Jaska Sarell
14-01-11, 22:30
For some parishes HisKi does cover years up to 1910. It all depends on volunteers inputting the data. Seems to have been rather slow recently.
You may find scanned original records at FFHA site (http://www.sukuhistoria.fi/sshy/index_eng.htm), but anything less than 125 years old is for members only. Again 100 years is the absolute limit, though mostly they end to around 1900 due to availability of microfilmed material used for scanning. New images are coming all the time.

Please, tell what parish(es) are you interested in.

:) Jaska

Robert Jokela
15-01-11, 18:47
One parish I am interested in is Sievi. My mother said her mother, Hilma Marjamaa b:10 Dec 1875, and father, Gustaf Wilhelm Luokkala b: 24 Jun 1879, were reportedly born in Sievi and were married in Sievi in 1899. They left for the USA in 1908 and 1900, respectively. That should fall within the stated limits. I am less cetain about the other side of the family. My father's father was Wilhelm Jokela, b: 21 Apr 1879, and mother was Anna Pikkorainen b: 2 Oct 1880. I am uncertain where in Oulun Lanni they were born but he said they were married in Oulu prior to his emmigration to the USA in 1900. As I am new, I should check out the FFHA site today. Any guidance you can provide would be great.

Robert Jokela

Jaska Sarell
15-01-11, 22:31
Unluckily for you FFHA doesn't yet have Sievi records from late 1800's :(