PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

rrvendelin
16-02-04, 07:59
My name is Robin Vendelin and I am a novice to genealogy. My cousin has been researching our family for years and now we are interested in learning more about my husband's family, the Vendelins. My husband's grandfather, Jakob Vendelin, was born in Isokyrö and came to the US from Karstula in about 1898 although we have not been able to find out how he came here. My husband's grandmother, Amalia Johansdotter Finström, was born in Alahärmä and came to the US via Ellis Island in 1900. They met sometime after that, married in California, began a family and eventually lived in Portland, OR, where my husband's father was born.

Thanks to some wonderful folks in Finland we have learned quite a bit about Amalia's family as well as receiving some great information about Jakob's first wife, Hilma Maria Vink, her family and their son, Jaako Ilmari Vendelin. We know that Jakob's parents were Mathias Johansson Wendelin and Margareta Jakobsdotter Perttilä but little else. We are eager to learn more. Someday I'd love to travel to Finland with my husband and meet the family that lives there. I've heard nothing but great things about visiting Finland.

Robin Vendelin

jeanette
16-02-04, 12:56
Hello and Welcome Robin,
Although new to genealogy I'm hoping you know about
The Genealogical Society of Finland site.
Within this fabulous site is a link to another excellent resource The Finnish Institute of Migration
http://www.migrationinstitute.fi/migration/ml/asp/search_e.asp [url]
This site is searchable for passport records, passenger records and a growing reference section.
If you were to select "Search in Passport Records"
then type in Wendelin and not complete any other fields
2 pages of Wendelin names would come up.
Of those 2 people show home parish as Karstula
Jakob b. 1876 passport issued 13 May 1899
and Jaakko Ilmaari b. 1899 pass. iss. 1909