PDA

View Full Version : mrahkonen

Hasse
25-01-05, 17:28
Biography : I am a pianist, a lecturer and a researcher
Interests : history, arts, travelling
Researching surnames : I am looking for any information on Selma Borg (b.Gamlakarleby 1838, d. USA 1920's). She moved to Philadelphia probably in 1864. She was a translator (for ex. Topelius), a musician and a women's movement activist.
Researching places/parishes :

June Pelo
25-01-05, 17:38
I helped Eugen Söderström research Selma Borg about 6-7 years ago. I think he planned to add the papers to a collection for the K. H. Renlund Museum in Gamlakarleby.

June

mrahkonen
25-01-05, 21:36
How interesting! I did not even know that such a museum existed...I'll have to contact them. And by the way: a couple of years ago I tried to find a person named Gunda Pelo - she probably lived in New York. She wrote (back in late the 1950's) an article about a person I was researching them. Do you happen to know anything about her?

June Pelo
25-01-05, 21:52
I just wrote something in the "Chit Chat" forum about Selma Borg. Do you have a copy of "Märkes-män och -kvinnor i Karlebynejden"? Some of the information I sent to Eugen Söderström is in an article in that book, and also a picture of Selma.

Yes, I know Gunda Pelo. She is my cousin and now lives in Florida. She is leaving this weekend to spend some time at her villa in Sideby. If you want to contact her, send me your e-mail address and I'll send it to her.

June

mrahkonen
25-01-05, 22:01
It occurred to me that there is another Selma Borg in the emigration data base, put together by you, which I just found. This Selma was born in 1876. But I will check the chit-chat, if I can get there...I still feel somewhat clumsy at using this forum!
My e-mail-address is mrahkonen%40luukku.com

June Pelo
26-01-05, 01:42