PDA

View Full Version : About Me

Nevada43
23-03-05, 04:26
My name is Marty Neva and live in Sudbury, Ontario, Canada. I have been into genealogy for about seven years and have received a lot of help from others in compiling my ancestry. I now volunteer at RAOGK (Random Acts Of Genealogical Kindness) at http://www.raogk.org which provides voluntary assistance to those that cannot access records in my locality.

I am married with two adult offspring and four grandchildren, aged 3 months to 6 years. I am a retired accountant from INCO Limited (the nickel mining company) where I worked for 27 years. My hobbies are genealogy, art, metal detecting, x-country skiing, walking, fishing, photography, reading and computering.

My Finnish ancestors in Canada start with my great grandfather Jaakko Isakkinpoika Porrasmäki who emigrated from Harja, Kauhajoki in 1887 to the USA and subsequently to the Sudbury area via Sault Ste. Marie. He helped establish the temperance society branch 'Pelastuksen Sankari' (Hero of those Saved) in Sault Ste. Marie. He then moved to the Sudbury area where he again helped found another temperance society branch called "Oikeuden Ohje' in Copper Cliff. He left his family in Finland, I suppose intending to bring them later or return. His son , Isaac (my grandfather) also emigrated to the Sudbury area where they met a month before Jaakko died in 1900. I am still searching for Jaakko's immigration record into the US or Canada.

My grandfather Isaac Porrasmäki married in Finland to Kreeta Sofia Heinineva from Mieto, Kurikka and as was the custom, adopted the Heinineva name when they lived on the farm of that name. Once in Canada the name was shortened to Neva.